Islam: Prophet Muhammad, Five Pillars, Quran, Law & History

DedicatedSweetPea avatar

Start Quiz

Study Flashcards

10 Questions

Which of the following is NOT one of the Five Pillars of Islam?

Zakat (charitable giving)

What is the primary source from which Islamic law (Shariah) is derived?

The Quran and Hadith

Which of the following is NOT a significant event in Islamic history mentioned in the text?

The establishment of the Ottoman Empire

What is the central belief in Islam according to the text?

Belief in the submission to God and the Day of Judgment

How is the Quran, the central religious text of Islam, described in the text?

The Quran is divided into suras and ayahs and has been preserved in its original Arabic form.

Which of the following is NOT one of the Five Pillars of Islam?

Khums (Payment of One-Fifth)

In what city was Prophet Muhammad born?


According to Islamic belief, what is the Quran considered to be?

The final revelation from God to humanity

What does the term 'Hajj' refer to in Islam?

Pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca

Which of the following is NOT mentioned as a characteristic of Prophet Muhammad in his early life?


Study Notes


Prophet Muhammad

Prophet Muhammad is considered one of the most influential figures in human history. Born in Mecca in 570 CE, he lived through periods of peace and war, including several major battles. As a young man, he was known for his truthfulness, generosity, and sincerity. In later years, he became a leader in Meccan society after Islam spread to Yathrib (Medina). His life is chronicled extensively in biographical sources written by those who knew him personally.

Five Pillars of Islam

The basic act of worship in Islam centers around five principles called the Five Pillars of Islam. These are:

  1. Shahada (Faith) - Declaration of belief in God and acceptance of Prophet Muhammad as His Messenger.
  2. Salat (Prayer) - Performing ritual prayers daily facing the Kaaba in Mecca five times a day.
  3. Zakat (Charity) - Giving alms to the poor and needy regularly.
  4. Sawm (Ramadan Fasting) - Fasting from dawn until sunset during the holy month of Ramadan.
  5. Hajj (Pilgrimage to Mecca) - A pilgrimage to Mecca once in a lifetime if able.

These pillars serve as practical guidelines to help Muslims lead a moral and virtuous life.


The Quran is the sacred scripture of Islam. It contains guidance for all aspects of life, including belief, conduct, and social justice. Muslims believe that the words revealed to Muhammad were given by God, and they consider it the last testament of God's prophets. The Quran is divided into chapters (suras) with verses (ayahs) and has been preserved in its original Arabic text.

Islamic Law

Islamic law, also known as Shariah, is derived from two primary sources within Islam: the Quran and Hadith. The Quran provides the ethical framework upon which Islamic law is built, while Hadith serves as examples of the Prophet Muhammad's actions and sayings. There have been numerous schools of thought over time that contribute to the interpretation and implementation of Islamic law.

Islamic History

Islamic history covers more than 1,400 years since the birth of the Prophet Muhammad up through modern times. This period includes significant events such as the rise and expansion of the Umayyad Empire, the Abbasid Caliphs and Persian rule under the Safavids, and the emergence of contemporary Muslim countries such as Saudi Arabia and Iran.

In conclusion, Islam is a monotheistic religion founded in the Arabian Peninsula in the seventh century CE. Its central beliefs revolve around the submission to God and belief in the Day of Judgment. This article has explored various aspects of the faith, including its foundational figure Prophet Muhammad, the principles embodied in the Five Pillars of Islam, the importance of the Quran as a guiding text, the development of Islamic Law based on religious texts, and the historical context that spans over a millennium.

Explore essential aspects of Islam, including Prophet Muhammad's life, the Five Pillars of Islam, the significance of the Quran, the development of Islamic law (Shariah), and key events in Islamic history from its inception to modern times.

Make Your Own Quizzes and Flashcards

Convert your notes into interactive study material.

Get started for free

More Quizzes Like This

Use Quizgecko on...