How well do you know the CONCACAF Gold Cup?

jwblackwell avatar
By jwblackwell



9 Questions

What is the CONCACAF Gold Cup?

When was the first CONCACAF tournament held?

Which regional divisions were present before the formation of CONCACAF in 1961?

What was the predecessor of the CONCACAF Gold Cup?

Which team won the North American Nations Cup in 1990 and 1991?

When was the first CONCACAF Gold Cup held?

Which team dominated the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the 1990s?

Which team has won the CONCACAF Championship/Gold Cup the most times?

Which team did Qatar lose to in the semi-finals of the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup?


CONCACAF Gold Cup Football Tournament

  • The CONCACAF Gold Cup is the main association football competition for men's national football teams governed by CONCACAF, determining the continental champion of North America, Central America, and the Caribbean.
  • The Gold Cup is held every two years and succeeded the CONCACAF Championship (1963–1989) with its inaugural edition being held in 1991.
  • Before the formation of CONCACAF in 1961, association football in the region was divided into smaller, regional divisions: the Confederación Centroamericana y del Caribe de Fútbol (CCCF) and the North American Football Confederation (NAFC).
  • The NAFC held four championships in 1947 and 1949, and after 41 years of absence, in 1990 and 1991 for the North American zone as the North American Nations Cup with Mexico winning three times and Canada winning once.
  • The first CONCACAF tournament was held in 1963 in El Salvador with Costa Rica becoming the first champion. The CONCACAF Campeonato de Naciones was held every two years from 1963 to 1973.
  • In 1990, CONCACAF renamed and restructured the CONCACAF Championship as the CONCACAF Gold Cup, with the United States hosting the first competition in 1991.
  • Mexico dominated the remainder of the decade, winning three consecutive CONCACAF Gold Cup titles in 1993, 1996, and 1998.
  • Since the formation of the Gold Cup in 1991, the CONCACAF Championship has been won eight times by Mexico, seven times by the United States, and once by Canada.
  • Before 2015, the winner, or highest-placed team that is a member of both CONCACAF and FIFA, qualified for the next staging of that tournament.
  • In January 2017, Victor Montagliani announced the expansion of the Gold Cup from 12 to 16 teams, starting with the 2019 tournament.
  • In November 2018, Costa Rica was announced as one of the hosts of the 2019 tournament, with a group B double-header set to be held at the Estadio Nacional.
  • In April 2019, it was announced that Jamaica would host a doubleheader in group C at Independence Park.
  • Qatar was invited and participated in the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup, losing in the semi-finals to the United States.


Test your knowledge of the CONCACAF Gold Cup Football Tournament with this quiz! From its history and origins to its most recent developments and participants, this quiz will challenge your understanding of one of North America, Central America, and the Caribbean's most prominent football competitions. Whether you're a die-hard fan or a casual observer, put your skills to the test and see how much you really know about the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Make Your Own Quiz

Transform your notes into a shareable quiz, with AI.

Get started for free