The Rock Cycle and Rock Types

CostSavingTriumph avatar

Start Quiz

Study Flashcards

5 Questions

Which of the following best describes the rock cycle?

The process of rocks changing from one type to another over time

What are the three main types of rocks in the rock cycle?

Igneous, sedimentary, and metamorphic

What happens to an igneous rock when it is exposed to the atmosphere?

It breaks down and dissolves

What causes rocks to change in the rock cycle?

Plate tectonics and the water cycle

What kind of cycle is the rock cycle?

Geologic cycle

Study Notes

The Rock Cycle

  • The rock cycle is the continuous process by which rocks are formed, transformed, and destroyed.

Types of Rocks

  • The three main types of rocks in the rock cycle are Igneous, Sedimentary, and Metamorphic.

Weathering of Igneous Rocks

  • When an igneous rock is exposed to the atmosphere, it undergoes weathering, which breaks it down into smaller particles.

Drivers of Change in the Rock Cycle

  • Rocks change in the rock cycle due to geological processes such as heat, pressure, erosion, and sedimentation.

Nature of the Rock Cycle

  • The rock cycle is a continuous, ongoing, and ever-changing process.

Test your knowledge of the rock cycle and rock types in this geology quiz. Explore the transitions between sedimentary, metamorphic, and igneous rocks, and learn how they are altered over time. Challenge yourself with questions about the processes and conditions that affect rocks.

Make Your Own Quizzes and Flashcards

Convert your notes into interactive study material.

Get started for free
Use Quizgecko on...