Neoclassical Literature Quiz

ConscientiousUvarovite avatar

Start Quiz

Study Flashcards

5 Questions

Neoclassical literature was written between 1660 and 1798. This time period is broken down into three parts: The Restoration period, The Augustan period, and The Age of Johnson.


Writers of the Neoclassical period tried to imitate the style of the Romans and Greeks.


The Enlightenment was an intellectual movement in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries that sought to improve society through fact-based reason and inquiry.


The main difference between Rationalism and Empiricism is that rationalism is the knowledge that is derived from reason.


The Neoclassical period faced a series of religious, political, and scientific upheavals challenging the status quo, which culminated in the Romantic movement.


Study Notes

Neoclassical Literature Timeline

  • Written between 1660 and 1798
  • Divided into three periods: Restoration, Augustan, and Age of Johnson

Characteristics of Neoclassical Writers

  • Imitated the style of Romans and Greeks

The Enlightenment

  • Intellectual movement in 17th and 18th centuries
  • Aimed to improve society through fact-based reason and inquiry

Rationalism vs Empiricism

  • Rationalism: knowledge derived from reason
  • Empiricism: (implied) knowledge derived from experience and senses

Context of the Neoclassical Period

  • Faced religious, political, and scientific upheavals
  • Challenged the status quo, leading to the Romantic movement

Test your knowledge of Neoclassical literature with this quiz. Explore the key figures and periods, from the Restoration period to the Age of Johnson, and discover the characteristics of Augustan rationalism and Enlightenment thought.

Make Your Own Quizzes and Flashcards

Convert your notes into interactive study material.

More Quizzes Like This

Use Quizgecko on...