Canadian Confederation

AffectionateCharoite avatar

Start Quiz

Study Flashcards

10 Questions

What was the process by which three British North American provinces were united into one federation called the Dominion of Canada?

Canadian Confederation

When did the Canadian Confederation take place?

July 1, 1867

How many provinces did Canada consist of upon Confederation?


What is the current number of provinces and territories in Canada?

10 provinces and 3 territories

Is Canada a confederation or a federation?


What were the three provinces that were united to form the Dominion of Canada in the Canadian Confederation process?

Province of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick

What is the difference between a federation and a confederation, in terms of contemporary political theory?

A federation is a centralized political system, while a confederation is a decentralized association of sovereign states.

What term was used in the Province of Canada to refer to the proposals for the union of the British North American provinces?


How many provinces did Canada consist of initially, after the Canadian Confederation?

Four provinces

How many provinces and territories does Canada currently have, after numerous territorial changes and expansions since Confederation?

Ten provinces and three territories

Test your knowledge about Canadian Confederation and learn about the process that united three British North American provinces into the Dominion of Canada in 1867. Explore the formation of Ontario, Quebec, and other provinces in this historical quiz.

Make Your Own Quizzes and Flashcards

Convert your notes into interactive study material.

Get started for free
Use Quizgecko on...