Mysore History Quiz
6 Questions
3.5 Stars

Mysore History Quiz

Created by

Questions and Answers

Where is the final abode of Basavanna, the leader of the Vachana Movement, located in the mentioned division?


Which city was the capital of the Kadambas in the mentioned division?


In which city were the Badami caves with wonderful idols located in the mentioned division?


Which districts in the mentioned division have world-famous temples in Pattadakallu, Badami, and Aihole?

<p>Uttara Kannada and Vijayapura</p> Signup and view all the answers

Who was the ruler of Mauryas and Shatavahanas in the mentioned division?

<p>Kadambas</p> Signup and view all the answers

During which year were the districts integrated into Karnataka from Bombay state?

<p>1956</p> Signup and view all the answers

Study Notes

Mysuru Kingdom

  • Ruled Mysuru from 1761 to 1799 under Hyder Ali and his son Tippu Sultan
  • Tippu Sultan died in a war against the British in 1799
  • British handed over the administration back to Wodeyars
  • British took over the administration again in 1831 due to weak administration
  • Administration was given back to Wodeyars in 1881
  • Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV undertook people-friendly developmental measures in the early 20th century
  • Focus was on education, culture, and irrigation under Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV

Kodagu Dynasty

  • Ruled by Haleri Dynasty from the 17th century
  • Bidanuru was their capital
  • Doddaveerappa is the most famous king of this dynasty
  • Chikkaveeraraja was the last ruler, who was weak, allowing British to take over the administration
  • Kodagu remained an independent state after Indian independence and was integrated into Mysuru State in 1956

Kalaburagi Division

  • Manyaketa, the capital city of Rashtrakutas, is the present-day Malakheda of Kalaburagi district
  • Kalayana Chalukyas ruled over this area, with Basavakalyana as their capital city
  • Hampi of Vijayanagara was the capital city of Vijayanagara Kings
  • Historic Vachana movement led by Basavanna took place in Basavakalyana
  • Kalaburagi was the capital of Bahamani Kings and later came under the rule of Hyderabad Nizam
  • Kalaburagi became part of Karnataka state in 1956

Palegaras and British Rule

  • Palegaras became powerful after the decline of Vijayanagara and Bahamani sultans
  • Palegaras of Harapanahalli, Sandur, Jarimale, and Surapura are well-known
  • Venkatappa Nayaka of Surapura waged war against the British but was captured and imprisoned
  • British gifted Surapura to Hyderabad Nizam
  • Bidar, Kalaburagi, and Raichur became part of Hyderabad Nizam's state

Belagavi Division

  • Area was ruled by Mauryas and Shatavahanas
  • Banavasi was the capital of Kadambas
  • Badami, the capital of Chalukyas, is in this division
  • Famous temples are in Pattadakallu, Badami, and Aihole
  • Badami caves have wonderful idols
  • Basavanabagevadi and Kudalasangama were centers of Vachana movement
  • Final abode of Basavanna, the leader of Vachana Movement, is in Kudalasangama

Freedom Movement

  • Rani Chennamma of Kittur fought against the British in 1824
  • Sangolli Rayanna's struggle is an unforgettable one
  • National Convention of Indian National Congress was held at Belagavi under the presidency of Mahatma Gandhi in 1924
  • Tax denial movement took place in Uttara Kannada district

Studying That Suits You

Use AI to generate personalized quizzes and flashcards to suit your learning preferences.

Quiz Team


Test your knowledge on the history of Mysore, focusing on the rule of Tippu Sultan, the British administration, and the contributions of Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV.

Use Quizgecko on...