Insect Metamorphosis Overview

PleasurableMinotaur avatar

Start Quiz

Study Flashcards

6 Questions

What are the three main types of insect metamorphosis?

Complete, incomplete, and ametabolous

Which of the following is a stage in complete metamorphosis?


What is the inactive stage in complete metamorphosis called?


Which type of metamorphosis has only two stages: egg and adult?

Incomplete metamorphosis

What is the juvenile stage in incomplete metamorphosis called?


Which insects undergo incomplete metamorphosis?

Aphids, crickets, and grasshoppers

Study Notes

Insect Metamorphosis

Insects undergo a process of growth from egg to adult called metamorphosis. There are three main types of insect metamorphoses: complete metamorphosis, incomplete metamorphosis, and ametabolous metamorphosis.

Complete Metamorphosis

Insects that undergo complete metamorphosis have four stages of development: egg, larva (or maggot), pupa (or chrysalis), and adult. The larva and pupa stages are collectively known as the "immature stage" or "inactive stage." Insects in the complete metamorphosis group are very diverse, including beetles, butterflies, bees, grasshoppers, flies, and moths. During this process, the insect has a larval or nymph stage, which can be a worm-like, caterpillar form or a segmented caterpillar form. The larva molts several times before entering the pupal stage, which is the inactive stage where the larva transforms into an adult insect through the process of metamorphosis.

Incomplete Metamorphosis

Insects undergoing incomplete metamorphosis have two stages: egg and adult. The egg hatches directly into a juvenile that resembles a small adult, known as a nymph. This nymph goes through multiple molts and gradually develops into the adult form. The insects undergoing incomplete metamorphosis include aphids, ants, bees, crickets, grasshoppers, and termites.

Ametabolous Metamorphosis

Ametabolous metamorphosis, also known as gradual metamorphosis, is a process where the insect grows in size and complexity throughout its life but never undergoes a complete transformation from one body form to another. This type of metamorphosis is found in the insect orders Hemiptera (true bugs), Dermaptera (earwigs), and Thysanoptera (thrips).

Insect metamorphosis is a fascinating process that allows these creatures to adapt to their environment and fulfill their roles in ecosystems. Understanding the different types of metamorphosis helps us appreciate the diversity and complexity of the insect world.

Learn about the three main types of insect metamorphosis: complete metamorphosis, incomplete metamorphosis, and ametabolous metamorphosis. Explore the distinct stages and characteristics of each type of metamorphosis, and discover how insects undergo growth and transformation throughout their life cycles.

Make Your Own Quizzes and Flashcards

Convert your notes into interactive study material.

Get started for free

More Quizzes Like This

18 questions


RefreshingTruth7024 avatar
Use Quizgecko on...