Indian State Capital Cities Quiz
11 Questions
3.4 Stars

Indian State Capital Cities Quiz

Test your knowledge of India's state capitals with this informative quiz! Explore the unique history, culture, and governance of each capital city, from the political epicenter of New Delhi to the lush landscapes of Thiruvananthapuram.

Created by

Questions and Answers

Which type of administrative division is New Delhi considered?

Union Territory

What key government building is located in New Delhi that houses the President of India?

Rashtrapati Bhavan (President's House)

How many states are there in India?


What is the primary function of capital cities in India?

<p>Administrative hubs</p> Signup and view all the answers

Which of the following is NOT a government building located in New Delhi?

<p>Lal Qila (Red Fort)</p> Signup and view all the answers

What is the capital of Arunachal Pradesh?

<p>Itanagar</p> Signup and view all the answers

Which city is the capital of Haryana?

<p>Chandigarh</p> Signup and view all the answers

What is the winter capital of Jammu and Kashmir?

<p>Jammu</p> Signup and view all the answers

Where is the capital of Tamil Nadu located?

<p>Chennai</p> Signup and view all the answers

Which city serves as the capital of Rajasthan?

<p>Jaipur</p> Signup and view all the answers

Goa's capital is:

<p>Panaji</p> Signup and view all the answers

Study Notes

States in India: A Comprehensive Look at their Capital Cities

India, a vast and diverse nation, is divided into 28 states and 8 Union Territories. Each state has its own unique history, culture, and government, but they all converge around their capital cities which serve as the administrative hubs. In this article, we'll delve into the capital cities of India's states, offering a fact-rich and easy-to-read exploration of these important locations.

New Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi)

New Delhi, known as the National Capital Territory of Delhi, isn't a state but rather a union territory that serves as the capital of the entire country. The political epicenter of the nation, New Delhi is home to key government buildings, such as the Rashtrapati Bhavan (President's House), the Parliament of India, and the Secretariat Buildings.

State Capitals

  • Andhra Pradesh: Amaravati (New capital; former capital was Hyderabad, which was transferred to Telangana)
  • Arunachal Pradesh: Itanagar
  • Assam: Dispur (located in Guwahati)
  • Bihar: Patna
  • Chhattisgarh: Raipur
  • Goa: Panaji (Panjim)
  • Gujarat: Gandhinagar
  • Haryana: Chandigarh (shared with Punjab; Haryana's administrative offices are located in Chandigarh but its High Court and some key government buildings are in Panchkula)
  • Himachal Pradesh: Shimla
  • Jammu and Kashmir: Srinagar (Summer capital), Jammu (Winter capital)
  • Jharkhand: Ranchi
  • Karnataka: Bengaluru
  • Kerala: Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
  • Madhya Pradesh: Bhopal
  • Maharashtra: Mumbai (formerly known as Bombay)
  • Manipur: Imphal
  • Meghalaya: Shillong
  • Mizoram: Aizawl
  • Nagaland: Kohima
  • Odisha: Bhubaneswar
  • Punjab: Chandigarh (shared with Haryana; Punjab's High Court and some key government buildings are located in Sector 17, Chandigarh)
  • Rajasthan: Jaipur
  • Sikkim: Gangtok
  • Tamil Nadu: Chennai (formerly known as Madras)
  • Telangana: Hyderabad
  • Tripura: Agartala
  • Uttar Pradesh: Lucknow
  • Uttarakhand: Dehradun
  • West Bengal: Kolkata

Union Territories

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands: Port Blair
  • Chandigarh: Chandigarh (shared with Haryana; Chandigarh's Union Territory offices are located in Sector 1, Chandigarh)
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu: Daman (Daman and Diu share a capital)
  • Lakshadweep: Kavaratti
  • National Capital Territory of Delhi: New Delhi

Each of these capitals has its own unique history and significance, serving as hubs of culture, commerce, and governance for their respective regions. Understanding these capital cities provides a fascinating glimpse into the diverse and rich heritage of India.

Studying That Suits You

Use AI to generate personalized quizzes and flashcards to suit your learning preferences.

Quiz Team

More Quizzes Like This

Indian States and Capitals GK Notes
32 questions
Indian States and Capitals
5 questions
States and Capitals of India
8 questions
Use Quizgecko on...