Erikson's Eight Stages of Psychosocial Development

CheeryArtNouveau avatar

Start Quiz

Study Flashcards

12 Questions

What is the key outcome of successfully developing a sense of trust according to Erikson's theory?

Establishing a foundation for secure relationships

How does Erikson suggest an individual may feel if they are frequently criticized or made to feel inferior during the industry vs. inferiority stage?

Struggle with guilt and self-confidence

During which stage do young adults establish intimacy and relationships with others according to Erikson?

Intimacy vs. Isolation

What psychological strength might individuals develop if they successfully deal with the conflict in the initiative vs. guilt stage?

A sense of purpose and initiative

What might be a consequence of feeling isolated or lacking connection during the intimacy vs. isolation stage?

Experiencing despair and lack of meaning in life

What distinguishes individuals who develop a sense of industry from those who develop a sense of inferiority according to Erikson's theory?

Success in contributions and sense of purpose

What is the outcome when infants have their needs consistently met during the Trust vs. Mistrust stage according to Erikson's theory?

They develop a sense of trust.

What may happen if toddlers' attempts at independence are met with overly critical caregivers according to Erikson's theory?

They feel shame and doubt.

During which stage do children explore their environment and take initiative according to Erikson's theory?

Initiative vs. Guilt

What can happen if children are not encouraged in their explorations during the preschool years as per Erikson's theory?

They experience guilt.

Which stage in Erikson's psychosocial development theory involves the conflict between intimacy and isolation?

Intimacy vs. Isolation

What can happen if toddlers feel frequently thwarted according to Erikson's theory?

They feel shameful.

Study Notes

Erik Erikson, an ego psychologist, developed a theory of psychosocial development, which describes the impact of social experience across the entire lifespan. His theory is based on the epigenetic principle, reflecting the ongoing social challenges faced into adulthood and old age. In this theory, personality development occurs in a predetermined order and builds upon each previous stage. The eight stages of Erikson's psychosocial development are:

Trust vs. Mistrust (Infancy from Birth to 18 Months)

During this stage, infants are completely dependent on their caregivers for their basic needs, such as nourishment and affection. If their needs are met consistently, they develop a sense of trust. If not, they experience mistrust and may struggle with forming secure attachments later in life.

Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt (Toddler Years from 18 Months to Three Years)

In this stage, toddlers assert their independence and develop a sense of autonomy. However, if their efforts are met with overly critical caregivers or if they are frequently thwarted, they may experience shame and doubt, which can impact their self-esteem and ability to make decisions.

Initiative vs. Guilt (Preschool Years from Three to Five)

During the preschool years, children take initiative and explore their environment. If their explorations are met with support and encouragement, they develop a sense of initiative. If their boundaries are frequently overstepped or they are made to feel guilty for their actions, they may struggle with guilt and self-confidence.

Industry vs. Inferiority (Middle School Years from Six to 11)

In this stage, children develop self-confidence in their abilities. If they are competent and receive positive feedback, they develop a sense of industry. If they are frequently criticized or made to feel inferior, they may develop a sense of inferiority, which can impact their self-esteem and motivation.

Identity vs. Confusion (Teen Years from 12 to 18)

During adolescence, teenagers experiment with and develop their identity and roles. If they receive support and guidance, they can develop a sense of identity. If they are confused or unable to make decisions, they may struggle with identity formation.

Intimacy vs. Isolation (Young Adult Years from 18 to 40)

In this stage, young adults establish intimacy and relationships with others. If they are able to form close relationships and experience a sense of belonging, they develop a sense of intimacy. If they experience isolation or lack of connection, they may struggle with feelings of loneliness and disconnection.

Generativity vs. Stagnation (Middle Age from 40 to 65)

During middle age, individuals contribute to society and try to establish a family. If they feel successful in their contributions and have a sense of purpose, they develop a sense of generativity. If they feel stagnated or unfulfilled, they may struggle with a sense of meaninglessness.

Integrity vs. Despair (Older Adult Years from 65 to Death)

In the final stage, older adults assess and make sense of their lives, reflecting on the meaning of their contributions. If they feel that their lives have been meaningful and that they have made a positive impact, they develop a sense of integrity. If they feel that their lives lacked meaning or purpose, they may experience despair.

Throughout these stages, Erikson believed that people experience a conflict that serves as a turning point in development. If these conflicts are successfully dealt with, individuals emerge from each stage with psychological strengths that serve them well for the rest of their lives. However, if these conflicts are poorly managed, individuals may struggle with psychological challenges that can impact their overall well-being.

Explore Erik Erikson's theory of psychosocial development, which outlines the impact of social experiences across the lifespan. Learn about the eight stages, from Trust vs. Mistrust in infancy to Integrity vs. Despair in older adulthood, and understand how successfully navigating each stage contributes to psychological strengths.

Make Your Own Quizzes and Flashcards

Convert your notes into interactive study material.

More Quizzes Like This

Use Quizgecko on...