The Ultimate Davis Cup Quiz



9 Questions

What is the Davis Cup?

Which two countries are the most successful in the history of the Davis Cup?

When did all contract professionals become eligible to play in the Davis Cup?

What is the women's equivalent of the Davis Cup?

Which countries are currently suspended from the Davis Cup?

When was the tiered system of competition created for the Davis Cup?

What is the highest level of competition in the Davis Cup?

What is the current ITF Davis Cup ranking based on?

How long does each tie in the Davis Cup last?


Davis Cup: The Premier International Team Competition in Men's Tennis

  • The Davis Cup is an annual international team competition in men's tennis contested between teams from over 140 countries.

  • It began in 1900 as a challenge between Great Britain and the United States, and by 2023, 155 nations entered teams into the competition.

  • The most successful countries in the history of the tournament are the United States and Australia.

  • The women's equivalent of the Davis Cup is the Billie Jean King Cup, formerly known as the Fed Cup.

  • All contract professionals were not allowed to play in the Davis Cup until 1973.

  • Russia and Belarus are currently suspended due to the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

  • The tournament was initially titled the International Lawn Tennis Challenge, and the Davis Cup competition was initially played as a challenge cup.

  • Beginning in 1923, the world's teams were split into two zones: the "America Zone" and the "Europe Zone". In 1955 a third zone, the "Eastern Zone", was added.

  • In 1981, a tiered system of competition was created, in which the 16 best national teams compete in the World Group and all other national teams compete in one of four groups in one of three regional zones.

  • In 2018, the ITF voted to change the format of the competition from 2019 onwards, changing it to an 18-team event to happen at the end of the season.

  • The Davis Cup Finals take place at one location and in one week.

  • Each tie consists of five rubbers, which are played in three days.Davis Cup Summary

  • Davis Cup is an international men's tennis competition contested annually by teams representing countries in a knockout format.

  • The competition was founded in 1900 and has been run by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) since 1913.

  • The tournament is divided into several groups with different levels of competition including the World Group, Group I, Group II, Group III, and Group IV.

  • The World Group is the highest level of competition with 16 teams competing in a knockout format.

  • The venues in the World Group must comply with certain minimum standards, including a minimum seating capacity.

  • Prior to each tie, the captain nominates a squad of four players and decides who will compete in the tie.

  • Each rubber is normally played as best of five sets, with a tiebreak at 6-6 if necessary.

  • In Group III and Group IV competitions, each tie consists only of three rubbers, which include two singles and one doubles rubber, which is played in a single day.

  • The most successful team in the history of the tournament is the United States with 32 titles followed by Australia with 28 titles.

  • The current ITF Davis Cup ranking is based on the performance of each team in the competition over the past four years.

  • The tournament is broadcast by various broadcasters around the world.

  • The Davis Cup is one of the oldest and the largest international team competitions in the world of sports.


How well do you know the Davis Cup? Test your knowledge of the premier international team competition in men's tennis with our quiz. From its history to its format and rules, this quiz covers everything you need to know about the Davis Cup. Challenge yourself and see if you're a true fan of this legendary tournament. Keywords: Davis Cup, international, team competition, men's tennis, history, format, rules, quiz, fan.

Ready to take the quiz?

Start Quiz