Test Your Knowledge of the Cricket World Cup



9 Questions

What is the ICC Cricket World Cup?

When was the first Cricket World Cup held?

How often is the Cricket World Cup held?

How many teams participate in the Cricket World Cup?

Which country has won the most Cricket World Cup titles?

Which team has won the Cricket World Cup twice?

Which team has won the Cricket World Cup once?

What is the format of the Cricket World Cup?

What is the most-watched match of the Cricket World Cup?


International Cricket Tournament: Cricket World Cup

  • The Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket, organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) every four years.

  • The tournament is considered the "flagship event of the international cricket calendar" by the ICC and is one of the world's most viewed sporting events.

  • The first World Cup was organised in England in June 1975, with the first ODI cricket match played only four years earlier.

  • The current format involves a qualification phase, which takes place over the preceding three years, to determine which teams qualify for the tournament phase.

  • In the tournament phase, 10 teams, including the automatically qualifying host nation, compete for the title at venues within the host nation over about a month.

  • Twenty teams have competed in the twelve editions of the tournament, with Australia winning it five times, India and West Indies twice each, while Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have won it once each.

  • The best performance by a non-full-member team came when Kenya made the semi-finals of the 2003 tournament.

  • The next tournament will be held in India in 2023, and the subsequent 2027 World Cup will be held jointly in South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia.

  • The first international cricket match was played between Canada and the United States in September 1844.

  • The first three World Cups were held in England, and since the 1987 tournament, hosting has been shared between countries under an unofficial rotation system.

  • The format of the Cricket World Cup has changed greatly over the course of its history, with each of the first four tournaments played by eight teams, divided into two groups of four.

  • From the 2023 World Cup onwards, only the host nation(s) will qualify automatically, and all countries will participate in a series of leagues to determine qualification.Overview of the ICC Cricket World Cup

  • The ICC Cricket World Cup is a quadrennial international cricket championship contested by national teams of men's cricket, organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

  • The first Cricket World Cup was held in 1975 in England, with eight teams participating.

  • The 2019 World Cup saw 10 teams participating in a round-robin format, before entering the semifinals.

  • The current trophy was created for the 1999 championships, and was the first permanent prize in the tournament's history. It stands 60 centimetres (24 in) high and weighs approximately 11 kilograms (24 lb).

  • The tournament is one of the world's most-viewed sporting events, with over 1.6 billion viewers for the 2019 World Cup.

  • The most-watched match of the tournament was the group game between India and Pakistan, which was watched by more than 300 million people live.

  • The 2003 Cricket World Cup matches were attended by 626,845 people, while the 2007 Cricket World Cup sold more than 672,000 tickets.

  • England hosted the first three competitions, and India volunteered to host the third Cricket World Cup, but most ICC members preferred England.

  • Seven teams have competed in every tournament, six of which have won the title. Australia has won five, while Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have each won once.

  • The West Indies (1975 and 1979) and Australia (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015) are the only teams to have won consecutive titles.

  • The best result by a non-Test playing nation is the semi-final appearance by Kenya in the 2003 tournament; while the best result by a non-Test playing team on their debut is the Super 8 (second round) by Ireland in 2007.

  • Since 1992, one player has been declared as the "Man of the Tournament" at the end of the World Cup finals.

  • The Man of the Match of the finals of the competition have been awarded to a member of the winning side.


How well do you know the Cricket World Cup? Test your knowledge of the quadrennial international cricket championship with this quiz! From its history and format to its iconic moments and players, this quiz will challenge even the most die-hard cricket fans. See if you know which teams have won the most titles, who has been named the "Man of the Tournament", and more. Take the quiz now and prove your love for the Cricket World Cup!

Ready to take the quiz?

Play Quiz